Nantgwynfaen Organic Farm

T: +44 (0)1239 851 914

Nantgwynfaen, Penrhiwllan Road, Croeslan, Llandysul, SA44 4SR
Ceredigion, West Wales

“As I walked down the rough lane and saw the farm in the afternoon sun for the first time, I knew my stay would be everything that I had hoped, and so it turned out to be…”

Clive Walker, Derby

Croeso
Welcome to our
lovely farm.

SOIL AssociationGreen Dragon Environmental Standard

TripAdvisor
Nantgwynfaen Organic Farm

Wi-Fi Available

Local Interest : Ddiddordeb Lleol

Attractions

Carreg Cennin CastleWest Wales is steeped in history. We have ancient castles, museums, and the National Trust. If you are short of time, visit the National Woollen Museum down the road in Drefach Velindre and Llanarchaeron (NT) outside Aberaeron.

Antiques & Car Boots www.walesantiques.co.uk

Attractions

Woollen Mill, Drefach Felindre, free, GO! www.museumwales.ac.uk/en/wool
Castell Henllys Iron Age Fort, Newport www.castellhenllys.com
Llanerchaeron, National Trust Welsh Gentry Estate, Aberaeron www.nationaltrust.org.uk/main/w-llanerchaeron
Dinefawr Park, National Trust, Llandeilo www.nationaltrust.org.uk/main/w-dinefwrpark
Red Kite Centre, Tregaron SY25 6JW 01974 298 977, 01794 298 340
New Quay Honey Farm www.thehoneyfarm.co.uk
Silver Mines, Aberystwyth www.silverminetours.co.uk
Dolaucothi Gold Mines, National Trust, Llanwrda www.nationaltrust.org.uk/main/w-dolaucothigoldmines
The Toy Museum, Llangeler www.toymuseumwales.co.uk
Museum of Internal Fire, Aberporth www.internalfire.com
Ceredigion Museum, Aberystwyth, free http://www.ceredigion.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=197
Coracle Museum, Cenarth http://coraclemuseum.co.uk
Pant Glas, birds of prey, Rhos www.pantglaswales.co.uk
Dylan Thomas Centre, Swansea http://www.dylanthomas.com/

Return to Top

Castell HenllysCinema & Stage

Theatre Mwldan, Cardigan, films, art exhibitions, & Tourist Information www.mwldan.co.uk
Lyric Theatre Carmarthen http://www.carmarthenshiretheatres.co.uk/english/site1/pages/page2.aspx
Swansea Grand Theatre http://www.swansea.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=480
Apollo, Carmarthen www.apollocinemas.com

Castles

Careg Cennin www.cadw.wales.gov.uk/default.asp?id=6&PlaceID=17
And www.carregcennencastle.com and http://aerialimagewales.co.uk/#/carreg-cennen/4532138168
Cilgerran, National Trust www.nationaltrust.org.uk/main/w-cilgerrancastle
Dinefwr http://www.cadw.wales.gov.uk/default.asp?id=6&PlaceID=65
Newcastle Emlyn

Return to Top

Dinefawr Churches & Abbeys

St Dogmaels Abbey www.cadw.wales.gov.uk/default.asp?id=6&PlaceID=121
Talley Abbey www.cadw.wales.gov.uk/default.asp?id=6&PlaceID=130
Strata Florida Abbey www.cadw.wales.gov.uk/default.asp?id=6&PlaceID=128
Llandysul Church www.churchinwales.org.uk/parishholding/david/d840-en/churches-en/st-tysul-llandysul_-en
Coedybryn Church www.llangynllo.moonfruit.com/#/exterior/4529487097
Tregroes Church
Newcastle Emlyn Catholic Church http://www.dioceseofmenevia.org/parishes/parishes.htm#newcastle
Pentre Ifan Burial Chamber www.cadw.wales.gov.uk/default.asp?id=6&PlaceID=109
Penbryn Church http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/wa-9899-church-of-st-michael-penbryn-penbryn/photos

Crafts & Artists Studios

Stained Glass, Cariad Glass, Llandysul www.cariadglass.co.uk
Calico Kate, fabric, sewing, Lampeter www.calicokate.co.uk
Jen Jones Qulit Centre, Lampeter www.jen-jones.com
Jen Jones Quilt Shop, Llanybydder - nice www.jen-jones.com/shop.htm
Curlew weavers, Rhydlewis, fleece to fabric www.westwales.co.uk/curlew.htm
Blueberry Angoras, Moylgrove www.blueberryangoras.co.uk
Helen Elliot, naïve artist, Newcastle Emlyn www.helenelliott.net
Dianne Mathias, landscape artist, Henllan www.dianemathias.com
David Beattie, wildlife etchings, Llandygwyth www.original-etchings.co.uk
The Red Cow Gallery, tiles, Newcastle Emlyn www.theredcowgallery.co.uk
Local artists, open studios www.cardiganopenstudios.org.uk

Return to Top

Gardens, Garden Centres & Nurseries

Aberglasney www.aberglasney.org
Botanic Garden of Wales, Llanarthne www.gardenofwales.org.uk
Farmyard Nurseries, Llandysul www.farmyardnurseries.co.uk
Gwynfor Growers, Llangrannog www.gwynfor.co.uk
Cae Hir Gardens & Tea Room, Temple Bar www.caehirgardens.com
Trefhedyn Garden Centre, Newcastle Emlyn www.trefhedyn.co.uk
Penrallt Nursery, Moylgrove, Cardigan www.penralltnursery.co.uk

Harps

Welsh Harp Centre, Llandysul www.telynauteifi.co.uk

Theme Parks

Oakwood, Narberth www.oakwoodthemepark.co.uk
Folly Farm, Narberth www.folly-farm.co.uk

Return to Top

Trains

Teifi Valley Narrow Gauge Railway, Henllan http://www.walesrails.co.uk/tvr.html
Devils Bridge Railway, Aberystwyth www.rheidolrailway.co.uk
Gwili Railway, Carmarthen www.gwili-railway.co.uk

Activities

KayaksCanoe, kayak, fish, play golf, walk and swim (or just sit by the fire and eat welsh cakes).

Canoeing/Kayaking/Adventure

Llandysul Paddlers www.llandysul-paddlers.org.uk
Fforest Outdoor, Cilgerran www.cardiganbayactive.co.uk/?c=kayaking-trips
Cenarth Paintball www.cenarth-paintball.co.uk
Coasteering, Pembrokeshire www.celticquestcoasteering.com

Cycling

Spinning classes at the Leisure centre Mon/Fri http://www.ceredigion.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=15077
Sustrans downloadable maps for West Wales http://www.sustrans.org.uk/sustrans-near-you/wales/free-leaflets-and-maps-for-wales
Ceredigion Cycling/walking/riding maps http://www.ceredigion.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=12137
Llys-y-Fran, cycle/walk/fish, SA63 4RR 01437 532 273/694 http://www.visitpembrokeshire.com/content.asp?id=1994&gclid=CJva85e4qqUCFYpO4Qod1mKQXg

Return to Top

Fishing

Rhydlewis Trout Farm, SA44 5QS 01239 851 224
Llandysul Angling Association, Teifi fishing www.fishing-in-wales.com/fisheries/index.htm
Sea Fishing Boat, Dolphin Cruises, New Quay www.newquayboattrips.co.uk
Teifi Trout Fising Association, permits, maps www.teifitrout.com

Golf

Cardigan Golf Club http://www.cardigangolf.co.uk

Penrhos Golf Club http://www.penrhosgolf.co.uk/
Carmarthen Golf Club http://www.carmarthengolfclub.com/Home/tabid/56/Default.aspx

Swimming

The Blue Lagoon, Narberth www.bluelagoonwales.com
Llandysul Leisure Centre www.ceredigion.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=6884
Newcastle Emlyn Leisure Centre www.carmarthenshire.gov.uk/english/leisure/sportsfacilities/leisurecentres/newcastleemlynleisurecentre/pages/home.aspx
Coracles, Cenarth www.cenarth-holipark.co.uk/coracles/pool.shtml

Return to Top

Dolaucothi Gold MineWalking

Pembrokeshire Coastal Path www.pcnpa.org.uk
Pembrokeshire Coastal Path http://www.visitpembrokeshire.com/content.asp?nav=9
Pembrokeshire Coastal Bus http://www.pembrokeshire.gov.uk/content.asp?nav=838,1629,839,1038&parent_directory_id=646Ceredigion Ceredigion Coastal Path www.bbc.co.uk/wales/nature/sites/walking/pages/mid_newquay_llangrannog.shtml and http://www.walkcardiganbay.com/
Ceredigion Coastal Bus, Cardi Bach, Jun-Sept http://www.richardsbros.co.uk/PDF%20Timetables/600.pdf
Nant-yr-Arian, Aberystwyth, walk, cycle, red kites www.nantyrarian.com
Ceredigion Cycling/walking/riding maps http://www.ceredigion.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=12137

Return to Top


Food:

cardigan bay lobsterWest Wales produces a wealth of local food, award winning cheeses, succulent lamb and an abundance of Welsh Black beef. Fresh lobster & crab, laverbread & cockles, smoked trout and Carmarthen ham, make sure you take a taste of Wales home with you.

Cheese Makers

Teifi Cheese, a mile away, SA44 5JY www.teficheese.com
/ 01239 851 528
Caws Cenarth www.cawscenarth.co.uk

Restaurants

The 25-Mile Cardigan www.the25mile.com 01239 623 625, next to the Guildhall. Excellent in every way – very locally sourced.

The Ferry Inn St Dogmaels www.ferry-inn.com 01239 615 172, highly recommended, views of the Teifi River

Daffodil Inn at Penrhiwllan 01559 370 343 www.daffodilinn.co.uk Good, very nearby, we can drive you

La-Calabria at nearby Rhydlewis 01239 851 101 www.la-calabria.co.uk Italian farmers, homemade ice cream

The Beach Hut, Llangrannog, SA44 6SN 01239 654 642 www.thebeachhutwales.co.uk by the beach, good fish and chips

Pachamama, nr clocktower, Newcastle Emlyn, 01239711 334 Café, Bistro, local organic Open daily and Friday & Saturday evenings amazing thai curry

Y Polyn, Nantgaredig (nr Botanical Gardens), Nr Carmarthen & M4, wonderful. www.ypolynrestaurant.co.uk“fat equals flavour live with it” 01267 290 000

Sunday Nights, The Harbourmaster, Aberaeron & The Beach Hut (high season).

With Us, 24 hours notice please, £15pp 2 courses, ask for a sample menu

Visit Taste Trail Ceredigion, www.thetastetrailwales.co.uk for stocking up on an extremely good picnic!

Return to Top

Places & Information

We have 7 beautiful beaches, the Teifi river and it’s valley, the market towns of Newcastle Emlyn and Cardigan, Llandysul with it’s beautiful park, and weather – lots of it.

New Quay

Beaches

Langrannog www.bbc.co.uk/wales/mid/sites/beaches/pages/llangranog.shtml
Tresaith www.bbc.co.uk/wales/mid/sites/beaches/pages/tresaith.shtml
Penbryn www.bbc.co.uk/wales/mid/sites/beaches/pages/penbryn.shtml
Cwm Ty Du, baby seals, early Sept www.cwmtydu-bay-wildlife.org
New Quay www.bbc.co.uk/wales/mid/sites/beaches/pages/newquay.shtml
Mwnt www.bbc.co.uk/wales/mid/sites/beaches/pages/mwnt.shtml
Poppit Sands www.bbc.co.uk/wales/mid/sites/cardigan/pages/michael_jackson_photos.shtml?7
South Ceredigion Coast www.bbc.co.uk/wales/mid/sites/panoramics/index_coastal.shtml
Aberporth

Return to Top

Events

Llandysul Events http://www.llandysul-ponttyweli.co.uk/english/Evthismonth.htm
Barley Saturday, Stallions, Cardigan, April
Llandysul Food Fair, end of June www.llandysulfood.co.uk
Aberaeron Seafood festival, July www.facebook.com/pages/Cardigan-Bay-Seafood-Festival-Gwyl-Bwyd-Mor-Bae-Ceredigion/260361167212?v=wall
Cardigan Agricultural Show, July
Vintage Show, Croeslan, August www.otvintageshow.org.uk
United Counties Showground, Carmarthen www.unitedcounties.co.uk/diary.html
Aberaeron Festival of the Horse, August www.aberaeronfestival.com
Coracle race, Cilgeran w/e after 18th Aug www.vimeo.com/6333723
Llandysul Agricultural Show, Croeslan, 1st Sat Sept www.llandysulshow.co.uk
Llandysul Christmas Fair, last Friday Nov
Celtic Longboat Rowing www.welshsearowing.org.uk/calendar/index.html

Maps

Ordinance Survey http://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/oswebsite/leisure/
Wales Travel Map 6 is a good general touring map
Landranger 145 (we are on this one) & 146
Explorer 185 (we are on this one 379 440) & 198

Return to Top

Markets

Llandysul Country Market, Friday Mornings
Newcastle Emlyn Country Market, Catholic Church, Friday AM www.newcastleemlyncountrymarket.co.uk
Newcastle Emlyn Cattle & Sheep Mart, Thursday AM
Newcastle Emlyn Cattle, calves & bulls fortnightly Tuesdays
Local Farmers Markets www.fmiw.co.uk
Lampeter Farmers Market, alternate Fridays www.fmiw.co.uk/?function=marketinfo&marketid=1459
Aberystwyth Farmers Market., 1st & 3rd Saturday www.fmiw.co.uk/?function=marketinfo&marketid=1457
Cardigan Farmers Market, 1st & 3rd Friday www.fmiw.co.uk/?function=marketinfo&marketid=1468
Haverfordwest, Friday fortnightly www.fmiw.co.uk/?function=marketinfo&marketid=1425

Rivers

Teifi River www.bbc.co.uk/wales/southwest/nature/features/pages/teifi.shtml
Tywi River http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/southwest/nature/features/pages/tywi.shtml

Travel

First Great Western, nearest station Carmarthen www.firstgreatwestern.co.uk
Travelline Cymru, 0871 200 2233 bus, train, routes & info www.traveline-cymru.info

Return to Top

Tourist Information Centres

Aberaeron Quay Parade 01545 570602 aberaeronTIC@ceredigion.gov.uk
Cardigan, Theatre Mwldan 01239 613 230 cardiganTIC@ceredigion.gov.uk
New Quay (summer only) 01545 560 865 newquayTIC@ceredigion.gov.uk
Newport SA42 02N 01239 820 912 NewportTIC@pembrokeshirecoast.org.uk
Fishguard SA64 0DE 01348 872 037 fishguardharbour.tic@pembrokeshire.gov.uk
http://www.pembrokeshire.gov.uk/content.asp?id=10483&nav=103,949,954,955&parent_directory_id=646

Towns & Villages

Aberaeron www.aberaeron.info
Newcastle Emlyn www.newcastle-emlyn.com
New Quay www.newquay-westwales.co.uk and
http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/nature/mediaexplorer/?theme_group=places_to_go&theme=mid&set=new_quay
Lampeter www.lampeter.org
Llandysul www.llandysul-ponttyweli.co.uk and www.visitllandysul.com
Cardigan www.bbc.co.uk/wales/mid/sites/cardigan/ and www.bbc.co.uk/wales/mid/sites/llandysul

Weather

Report www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/wl/aberporth_forecast_weather.html
Rainy Day Ideas see attractions & museums, cheese farms, crafts, swimming, restaurants, towns, (or just get out there and we’ll light the fire and use the dryer!
Wet Weather Gear try the Army Surplus store at Sarnau on the coast road nr Aberporth, or the Farmers Coop, Newcastle Emlyn (Wellies), Paddlers shop Llandysul on the bridge.

Return to Top

Wildlife

DolphinsWe have a rich crop of wildlife here in West Wales. Cardigan Bay Dolphins can sometimes even be seen from the pier at New Quay; lazy seals who like to steal mackerel from your fish hooks lounge around on the rocks; buzzards and red kite are abundant, they swoop and dive; and of course during the summer, the swallows come back and fill the skies.


Cors Caron, source of the Teifi www.ccw.gov.uk/landscape--wildlife/protecting-our-landscape/special-landscapes--sites/protected landscapes/national-nature-reserves/nnr-west/cors-caron.aspx

The Wildlife Trust of South and West Wales www.welshwildlife.org/reservesCeredigion_en.link

Teifi Marshes Nature Reserve, Cardigan www.welshwildlife.org/wwcIntro_en.link
Buffalo www.bbc.co.uk/wales/southwest/nature/features/pages/buffalo.shtml
Cardigan Bay Marine Wildlife Center www.cbmwc.org
Cardigan Bay bottlenose dolphins
www.bbc.co.uk/wales/nature/mediaexplorer/?theme_group=places_to_go&theme=mid&set=new_quay
Nant-yr-Arian, Aberystwyth, walk, cycle, red kites www.nantyrarian.com
Cader Idris http://aerialimagewales.co.uk/#/cadair-idris/4530240082
Atlantic Grey Seals http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/mid/sites/wildlife/pages/grey_seal.shtml
Skomer Island boat trips        http://www.pembrokeshire-islands.co.uk/
Adventure Wildlife Boat Trips, Cardigan    www.baytoremember.co.uk
Dolphin Boat Cruises, New Quay   www.newquayboattrips.co.uk
Dolphins “Cardigan bay holds Britain’s largest coastal population of bottlenose dolphins” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOo4Sb_5AjE

Return to Top

Organic Farming

We are not the only organic farm in this area, there are many.  Organic farming is good for wildlife and good for the planet.  It is sustainable as it does not rely on fertilizers and chemicals which are derived from oil. 

For more information look at :

What is Organic Farming? http://www.infonet-biovision.org/res/res/files/488.OrgFarm.pdf

Join the Soil Association http://www.soilassociation.org/Takeaction/Supportus/tabid/127/Default.aspx

Give a donation to the Soil Association http://apps.soilassociation.org/payments/getuserinfo.aspx
Organic Centre Wales                                   http://www.organiccentrewales.org.uk/

Return to Top

http://www.organicfarmwales.co.uk
email: amanda@organicfarmwales.co.uk
All text and images copyright Nantgwynfaen 2013